• Boat Banter

It is currently 18 May 2024, 23:44
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • Who is online
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 1736 on 21 Nov 2020, 15:51
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Boat Projects Forum

Boat Project

by Dieselboatman » 29 Mar 2020, 16:20

Hello everyone

I am looking to get my first boat project as something to spend the evenings tinkering with

I have some experience with boats but mainly outboard setups apart from a little bit of work on an inboard engine (diesel mechanic by trade and fabricator as hobby)

But I personally would like an inboard setup

I have seen a few 18~22foot boats with inboards (rather like the Colvic 20 and Seaworkers personally)

However I have seen a few others with sterndrives

What puts me off a sterndrive is the coat however, if i had to replace it

What I want to ask is this....

If I had a sterndrive boat, would it be possible to make a plate up to cover the sterndrive hole, and fit a standard inboard gland and then simply mount the prop on the back of the boat? And make up a bracket and fit a rudder?

Would it work? Or if not is there a way to make it work please??

Just thinking it would be an option, even if it meant creeping engine forwards a bit for gearbox room and a short prop, could even make a box instead of a plate to make a little more room for the gearbox?

Thanks in advance
Dieselboatman
Able Rate
Able Rate

by ChrisH » 30 Mar 2020, 18:56

I'm no expert, but as I understand it most boats with a stern drive have planning hulls. So the prop needs to be below the lowest point of the hull at the transom. It might just about work if you were going to poodle at river cruising speeds, but I would think that might be touch and go.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk
ChrisH
Sub Lieutenant
Sub Lieutenant

by Ianfs » 31 Mar 2020, 11:49