• Boat Banter

It is currently 19 Apr 2024, 06:04
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • Who is online
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 1736 on 21 Nov 2020, 15:51
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Towing (Ski's, Wakeboard etc) Forum

SkySki (Hydrofoiling)

by argonaut » 25 Apr 2015, 22:52

SkySki

I have been messing about in boats since 1977, and for me boating is about towed sports … for years I enjoyed water-skiing and in particular knee-boarding.
Plus dabbled with Trick skis, wakeboarding, etc.
However I have had several operations on my knee culminating in a serious piece of surgery which meant I could no longer kneel and sit back on my heels .. so knee-boarding was no longer a possibility.

Also it takes only a few minutes water-skiing before the buffeting causes extreme pain & swelling of my knee ………… so I had to find a new toy or boating was going to become a thing of the past. :(

It started with a casual comment on an on-line forum, and I started looking into the option of getting into Hydrofoiling.
This sport started off with a product known as the ”Air Chair”, and was developed into a high performance piece of kit known as a SkySki.

So what is a SkySki ? - Here is the model I have a Pro SS:

You sit above what is similar to a small surfboard, there is a double locking cross bel that tightens you down onto the seat pad.
Your feet at strapped into fixed bindings on the board, both of these fixings are vital to make sure you and the SkSki become one ………… when you wipe out, if you are not strapped into and onto ths Sky … you can be seriously injured.
The bar travels down form the seat through the board to the bottom bracket, and onto this are fixed the foils.

You hold onto a tow rope – similar to skiing …